Saturday, 1 November 2014

Bangalore becomes 'Bengaluru'; 11 other cities renamed

It is official: Bangalore becomes Bengaluru
Vendors selling flower garlands on a pavement wait for customers outside a flower market in Bangalore. Photo: Reuters
Country's IT city Bangalore will now officially be known as Bengaluru. Now, 12 of Karnataka's towns will officially be known with their Kannada names.
The decision came on the 69th anniversary of the formation of the state of Karnataka. The decision was hailed by many noted personalities of Karnataka.
Popular cultural personalities like late UR Ananthamurthy and Kannada theatre person Girish Karnad were amongst the proponents of reverting to the popular Kannada names of the cities. Their contention was that locals referred to these cities with their Kannada names only.
Apart from Bangalore, Mysore will be known as Mysuru, Mangalore as Mangaluru, Belgaum as Belagavi, Gulbarga as Kalaburagi, Hubli as Hubballi, Shimago as Shivamogga, Chickmagalur as Chikkamagaluru, Bellary as Ballari, Bijapur as Vijapura, Hospet as Hosapete and Tumkur as Tumakuru.
The Karnataka government had mooted the proposal in 2006.